EAVA FM - Multilingual Community Radio, 102.5 FM, Leicester, UKEAVA FM - Serving The Community


     Follow EAVA FM on Facebook Follow EAVA FM on Twitter Watch EAVA FM on YouTube Follow EAVA FM on Mixcloud Follow EAVA FM on Myspace

Latest News

Another year as been and gone and 23rd January 2012 at 15.40pm China's time zone see's the Chinese New Year, The year of the Water Dragon or Black Dragon

Added: Monday 23rd January 2012 02:19:14 PM

Another year as been and gone and 23rd January 2012 at 15.40pm China

This Chinese New Year 2012 brings in the Water Dragon; water means the calming influence of the dragon's fire.

People born under the dragon are said to be passionate, brave and self assured. Dragon's are blessed with good fortune, they are smart enterprising and have a wicked sense of humour. They have a natural flair for fashion and are the people to go to if you want to catch up on trends.

Many people have different views some say that this is the year of the Black Dragon and some say that it is the year of the Water Dragon. Both are right because the stem-branch is connected to the five elements. The Chinese calendars used the stem-branch system to count the days, months and years. There are ten stems and twelve branches.

The stems are named by Yin-Yang and five elements (Metal, Water, Wood, Fire and Earth). The stem sequence order is as follows:

Yang Wood, Yin Wood, Yang Fire, Yin Fire, Yang Earth, Yin Earth, Yang Metal, Yin Metal, Yang Water, and Yin Water.

The branches are animals, and the Branch sequence order is:

Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Boar.

Both the stem and branch are used together which forms a cycle of 60 counting systems, which begin with the Wooden Rat and end with the Water Boar.

A dragon is a legendary creature; all legendary stories about the Chinese dragons are from the sky, which in China means heaven. They say that the dragon as nine sons, each have there own themes and they all have different versions too, one of these versions are:

The 1st son loves music. The head of number 1 son becomes a decoration for music instruments, such as two-stringed bowed Violin (Huqin)

The 2nd son loves fighting - many different handles of weapons have been the symbol for number 2 son.

The 3rd son loves adventure and keeping guard. He has prestige and is the symbol of safety, harmony and peace.

The 4th son loves howling. The image of number 4 son can be found on the big bells. It is a symbol of protection and alertness.

The 5th son loves quietness, sitting, fire and smoke. His image is often found in temples, such as incense burners.

The 6th son has the power of strength; he loves to carry heavy stuff to show off his magic energy. He is a symbol of longevity and good luck.

The 7th son loves to seek justice. The Chinese like to apply his symbol around law, court or jail.

The 8th son loves literature. Chinese like to put the 8th son as a symbol around steles. When used in this way, it is a symbol of knowledge or education.

The 9th son loves water. He is a symbol to prevent fire disasters.

An event taking place in Leicester to help celebrate the New Year is:

Come join and celebrate the year of the Dragon at Fosse Library on Mantle Road, Leicester, LE3 5HG. Celebrate with stories and crafts, dragon masks, Lucky money bags and more. Children and Families welcome. This event will take place on Saturday 28th January 2012 from 2:00pm until 3:30pm. This is a free event for more information contact:

0116 2254995

All information in this article is taken from


Written by Annika Woodward & Uploaded by VZONE Multimedia